Obsidian (Lux #1) Book Review

Obsidian_cover1600-300x457

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux #1)
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Published: May 8th, 2012 (335 pgs)
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal
Source: Bought – eBook
Rating: 4 Stars!

STARTING OVER SUCKS

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

AND THEN HE OPENED HIS MOUTH

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

THE HOT ALIEN LIVING NEXT DOOR MARKS ME

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

IF I DON’T KILL HIM FIRST, THAT IS.

My Thoughts:

I honestly had no intention of reading this book until I saw it was free on the iBooks app. That was in the beginning of July, and until last week I had totally forgotten about it. I was sitting at school on one of my breaks between lectures when I finished The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom and had nothing to do for another hour before class. Then I remembered the iBooks app and this beauty was just begging to be read. Let me just tell you that I don’t even remember my hour long commute home… that’s how into this book I was.

First of all, Daemon Black. I have never before wanted to kiss someone and punch them in the face simultaneously. His character is such an a-hole, but so hilarious. I seriously cannot get enough of him. There were times where I was definitely like “ugh, what a jerk”, but when you find out more about their history and what happened with his brother Dawson, you really have to give the guy a break. If I was in his situation I would do anything to keep my only remaining sibling alive as well, even if that means being a jerk to the new girl next door.

Now with that 6-foot-something alien hunk out of the way, let’s move on to our main character. Right off the bat I really liked Katy. I felt like I could really resonate with her character at the beginning – not just because she’s a blogger and a book nerd – but because she’s thrown into this crappy small town and she hardly complains. She will do anything to make her mom happy after the loss of her father. That’s another reason I really liked this book, it focuses a lot on familial relationships as well as romantic ones. I also loved that she didn’t automatically hit it off with Daemon, that in fact, she became really good friends with Dee first (who is awesome!) despite Daemon threatening her.

Besides really enjoying all of the characters, the plot was awesome too. I have never read a book about aliens before so at first I was pretty iffy about the idea. Their history is really awesome and Jennifer L. Armentrout does a spectacular job coming up with a world where extraterrestrial life forms exist among humans. Not only are the Luxon (what Daemon and Dee are) super badass and powerful, but there are also the Arum who are creepy, shadow-type aliens who have no cool powers (and want to steal the Luxon’s). The fight scenes are fast-paced and emotional and the finale… EPIC.

There were only a few things I disliked. First of all, I’m not sure if all editions are like this, but mine had a ton of spelling/grammatical errors. Again, maybe it’s just my iBook, but if it’s not then Entangled Teen definitely needs to play closer attention when publishing. I know, I know, it has nothing to do with the author or the story, but I seriously get annoyed when seeing stuff like that in a published best-selling book series. Katy also kind of started to annoy me near the end. After the huge fight with the Arum and finding out she’s now somehow linked to Daemon, she is so whiny. She seriously can’t seem to wrap her head around how he could like her, like her. I completely understand he treated her like crap for the better half of the book, but come on girl. I just want to shake her and say “you’re funny, caring, adorably nerdy, sassy when you want to be, and you are completely capable of holding your own against him. Not to mention, you kicked serious Arum butt in the last fight!” The fact that she doesn’t think she’s good enough for Daemon or something is seriously annoying. She should either tell him she likes him, or that she doesn’t. Fighting her feelings and trying to justify why she “shouldn’t” like him makes her look weak, when she’s spent the entire book proving that’s exactly what she isn’t.

Overall, an awesome introduction to a series I’m sure just gets better. (Actually, I already know it gets better, stay tuned for my review on Onyx). The characters rock, the plot is awesome, and the author is a fan-effing-tastic writer. *Round of applause*.

giphy

Until next time,

xx
Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

