TOP TEN TUESDAY: BOOKS I WANT TO REREAD

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

TOP TEN BOOKS I WANT TO REREAD
(or would reread in an ideal world)

I actually don’t really like rereading books. Sure I would love to revisit stories that I enjoyed in the past, but really I would rather just read new stories and experience them first hand. The thing that bothers me the most about it is that I know what happens. I have such a hard time forcing myself to read something when I already know the ending. It isn’t impossible, and I have done it a couple times for example I saw the movie Dear John when I was actually only half way through reading the book by Nicholas Sparks. I did it, but it took a lot longer than it should have and it didn’t hit me the same way it would have had I read it first. Typically when I watch movies and TV shows that are based on books, before I read the book, I mostly accept the fact that I probably never will.

HOWEVER. Earlier this year I decided to plow through all 13 A Series of Unfortunate Events books and I loved every minute of it. I think it was because I read them so long ago I had completely forgotten what happened and was able to really enjoy it all over again. So I probably will eventually continue to reread things, but it isn’t my main focus. But there are a couple of things that I really would like to try to get to.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

I think I am probably the only person in the entire world that has only read the Harry Potter series once. Needless to say, I am long overdue for a reread.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis 

I honestly don’t think I was interested enough when I read these the first time around. I think in order to appreciate them I need to give the series another go.

The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo 

A lot of people say that Harry Potter, A Series of Unfortunate Events or any other well known book or series really started off their reading. This book was mine. In grade 4 my teacher started reading this to us aloud and I remember having to beg my dad to take me to Chapters as soon as I got home so I could continue it over the weekend. I really want to re-experience this book!

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Or any other John Green book for that matter. I haven’t read any of them in years and I would really like to do it all over again.

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak 

I read this book when I was in 8th grade I believe, and all I remember about it is that I really enjoyed it… and also that I cried a lot. So seeing as I have completely forgotten anything about it I think it would be the perfect time to revisit it.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell 

I actually just read this book at the beginning of September and it’s just something that I feel like I could read a thousand more times because that’s how much I loved it and didn’t want it to end.

The Mortal Instruments The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Do I really need to explain why I would want to read these all again?!

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I would be honoured to have my heart broken and sewed back together slowly by Richelle Mead all over again.

Safe Haven and/or A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

These are my two favourite Nicholas Sparks books. They were such emotional rides and I’m just so ready to have the feels all over again.

xx

Jacqueline

One thought on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: BOOKS I WANT TO REREAD

Leave a Reply

