TOP TEN TUESDAY: NEW-TO-ME AUTHORS

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

TOP TEN NEW-TO-ME AUTHORS I READ IN 2014

George R.R. Martin

I can’t believe it has been less than a year since I started the Song of Ice and Fire series… I had tried a few times before this but was very intimidated by the size of the books and also still wasn’t sure how I felt about the content itself, but OH MAN. Am I happy I started or what?! I still have to read A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons I’m just trying to savour it.

Books Read This Year: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords 

Veronica Roth 

I asked for the Divergent boxed set for my birthday in February, but didn’t actually read Divergent until the week before the movie came out and just devoured it. I ended up getting caught up in a ton of other books so I have only just started Insurgent and I’m loving it so far! However…. I have been spoiled for Allegiant so I’m worried it’ll ruin the experience.

Books Read This Year: Divergent, currently reading Insurgent

Tahereh Mafi 

I’m ashamed to say I have actually only read Shatter Me. There are far too many books for me to catch up on and far too little time. I read this book in one sitting on the beach in Peurto Vallarta, Mexico so it was a very pleasant experience… Thankfully I was smart enough to take 4 books on the trip since I whizzed through this one.

Books Read This Year: Shatter Me

Jenny Han

This is another situation where I keep acquiring books from the author and I do want to read them all but I just don’t have enough time in a day. I have the whole Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy and I intended on reading it in the summer, but I held onto it so I could read it in the winter and wish for hot weather. I picked up To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before in September and absolutely adored it. I will definitely continue to read Jenny Han’s books.

Books Read This Year: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before 

Marissa Meyer 

Holy moly… Of all the hyped up series I am so extremely glad I picked up Cinder when I did. I was in a horrible reading slump in October and had so much school work to do but of course I laid down and started reading and this was just PERFECT.

Books Read This Year: Cinder, Scarlet 

Laini Taylor 

Okay the reason I was in a reading slump in the first place was because of Laini Taylor. I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and was just like staaaaaahp the feels and wanted to cry. I actually had the second one on hand but wasn’t sure how much torture I wanted to inflict on myself so I picked up Cinder and BAM two amazing authors in one month.

Books Read This Year: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Days of Blood and Starlight 

Rachel Hawkins 

When Rebel Belle came out I swear that’s all I heard/saw on BookTube and everywhere for like a month. So obviously I bought it. This was the first book I read on my trip to Mexico and I actually finished it on the plane ride there… So that was awkward. BUT it was so awesome! I didn’t think I would like it but it was so funny and kick butt and ugh. *high five* Rachel Hawkins.

Books Read This Year: Rebel Belle

Richelle Mead 

Let me just make it clear that I never marathon books. I literally just can’t. I have to take breaks when characters get annoying, or when things get to heated, or when something major happens… and you can’t do that when you marathon a series. That being said… on a whim I bought the Vampire Academy boxed set and marathoned the entire thing in a week, then proceeded to take the first one to work and force my coworker to read them so I had someone to cry with. I can’t help but attribute all of these feels to Richelle Mead. I currently have Bloodlines sitting on my shelf just waiting for the right moment.

Books Read This Year: Vampire Academy, Frost Bite, Shadow Kiss, Spirit Bound, Blood Promise, Last Sacrifice 

Rainbow Rowell 

And yet another author I first read in Mexico… I took Eleanor and Park on my trip and boy was that a mistake. Do you know how hard it is to be laying on the beach next to your sister and trying not to SOB because of the book you’re reading? I literally had to be like “I’ll be back in a bit guys I’m going to the room to reapply sunscreen” and as soon as I got there I burst into tears. THE FEEEEEEEELS. I eventually read Fangirl in September and actually can’t decide which made me cry more.

863686

Books Read This Year: Eleanor & Park, Fangirl 

Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Last but certainly not least, I picked up Obsidian, the first book in the Lux series, on a whim. I downloaded it on iBooks sometime in the summer when it was free and started reading it at school when I was bored on break. I probably finished it the next day… and immediately bought Onyx on iBooks as well (even though I hate reading books on electronics) because I thought it would make me feel less guilty for adding to be TBR. I finished that one two days later… Honestly, these books are such guilty pleasures, I haven’t continued the series yet because I am trying to cut down my TBR but I’ll probably pick the next one up when I’m in a slump.

Books Read This Year: Obsidian, Onyx 

I didn’t intend to write so much about each author considering I am suppose to be studying… but shit happens. I just started getting so excited and now all I want to do is read Insurgent. I’ll probably do that right now before I go to bed.

See ya!

xx

Jacqueline

p.s. I’M DONE EXAMS TOMORROW!!!!!!

5 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: NEW-TO-ME AUTHORS

Leave a Reply

