MINI REVIEWS: MEYER, ROTH & TAYLOR

I have been meaning to review Days of Blood & Starlight and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer for a while now, but then life happened. I really hate reviewing books a long time after I read them, but I was smart enough to throw some notes in my phone so that is why I’m compiling these in to one post. Without further ado, let’s talk the last three books I’ve read!

also: SPOILER ALERT! I won’t be going into too much detail, but all of these books are sequels so it needed to be said! I don’t wanna ruin anything for anyone!

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer13206760
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Published: February 5th, 2013
Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi/Fantasy. Fairy Tale Retelling
Source: Bought
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis 

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

General Thoughts:

Scarlet is an absolute bad ass. I love her character and I really felt for her. However, although I could appreciate her stubbornness at times, sometimes she was too hot-headed. I understand what she went through to find her grandmother was traumatic and then to lose her must have been excruciating, but it seemed like she didn’t make much of an effort to connect with Cinder. Meanwhile, Cinder and Thorne saved both Scarlet AND Wolf… She immediately flips out and blames everything on Cinder, but did not even stop to think what Cinder herself had gone through. It also kind of bothered me how needy she was when it came to Wolf, especially at the end. No matter how many times he lied and screwed her over, she refused to leave him behind. Which brings me to Wolf himself…

Wolf is, well, Wolf. He is quite a wonderful specimen. Their relationship is cute and hilarious and thrilling, but I genuinely was not expecting him to screw her over like that. However, he saved her life when he really shouldn’t have so… brownie points? I like him a lot more than Kai that’s for sure.

Overall, I really love all the characters and am so excited to continue the series. I am also so glad Iko has made her return as the ship and that Thorne is still part of the story. He is so hilarious. This series is just so much fun and is super action packed and so thrilling, definitely a must read.

* * *

Days of Bl12812550ood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone #2) by Laini Taylor
Publisher: Little Brown
Published: November 6th, 2012
Genre: YA Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal
Source: Bought
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis 

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

This is not that world.

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?

General Thoughts: 

I love how fast paced Laini Taylor writes. Usually I get super confused if things go too quickly, but I thoroughly enjoy it with these books. I expected to be bummed out by this book because I heard it isn’t a very good sequel, but I really loved it. I mean of course I found Karou super annoying by how whiney and submissive she was being, but at the end of the day she went through so much at the hands of the White Wolf that I actually could not blame her. I seriously wanted to wring his neck in every scene especially when he was basically trying to rape her… I was so uncomfortable and repulsed.

On a brighter note, I am SO SO SO HAPPY that Zuzanna and Mik had such prominent roles in this book. I was so nervous when they first showed up, but I was on the verge of tears when they started to get along with all the Chimaera. AND ISSA!!!! Thank the heavens some of Karou’s family lived ❤

I also thought Akiva was kind of annoying and obsessive in this book, however I definitely love his relationship with his siblings and I am so upset that his brother died. It literally broke my heart. I was also very surprised by the ending, but now I am terrified for the final book.

* * *

I11735983nsurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Published: May 1st, 2012
Genre: YA Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopian
Source: Bought
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: 

One choice can transform you– or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves–and herself–while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable–and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

General Thoughts: 

When I picked up Divergent the week before the movie came out, I whizzed through it. Then the third book was spoiled for me and it really took me a lot to want to read the next one… but seeing as my brother bought me the hardcover boxed set for my birthday I feel obligated to complete it. Plus I really do like the characters.

This book kind of started off slow, but once the action kicked in again it was really enjoyable. Tris and Four are kind of annoying and half the time just need to learn how to communicate!!! I nearly fainted when I read that Caleb basically f*cked Tris over and watched her get tortured… Also how did no one else think Four’s mom was a sketch bag. AND the like plot twist at the end with the video.. LIKE WHAT EVEN WAS THAT. The end of this book literally blew my mind. I read the last chapter at the dinner table and my sister kept asking me things and I was like “no you’re seriously going to have to be quiet until I finish this page”.

If it wasn’t for the slow pace and a couple of things I was annoyed with I probably would have given this book 5 stars, overall I didn’t mind it as a sequel but now I’m super nervous for the last book and don’t know when I will get around to it.

Well that took a while… back to reading!

xx

Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

