My True Love Gave to Me Book Review

20309175

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Published: October 14th, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Short Stories
Source: Bought
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis 

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWELVE HOLIDAY STORIES by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins.

Okay I’m not going to give a synopsis. If you haven’t heard of this book you must be living under a rock, because it has been all over everything since it came out. 12 holiday stories by 12 fantastic young adult authors. What more do you need to know? Seriously. This book is funny, charming, swoon worthy and just an all around great holiday read. I finished it last week just before Christmas Eve and ugh, it was just perfect. All together I rated it a 5 out of 5 stars as a whole because the whole anthology was marvellous. Now I’m going to go through each story and talk about what I liked/didn’t like and give an individual rating. I am not going to summarize them because I seriously suck at summarizing and the short stories are too small I might ruin it for you.

“Midnights” by Rainbow Rowell 

I loved this one. It was a great way to start off the book and it really set my standards high for the rest of the stories. I liked how it was told over a few years in a row and you got to see some changes in characters. 5 out of 5 stars.

“The Lady and the Fox” by Kelly Link 

Honestly, I’m still not sure how I feel about this one. I didn’t really feel connected to any of the characters and a lot of the time I was just confused. I liked the supernatural element (if you can call it that) and thought it was a neat story but definitely not my favourite. 3.5 out of 5 stars.

“Angels in the Snow” by Matt De La Peña

I was pleasantly surprised by this one. For one thing it made me cry… but that’s really not a surprise since a lot can make me cry. I didn’t really like the idea of cheating but I loved both of the characters and their stories. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

“Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me” by Jenny Han

I was disappointed in this one. I’ve only read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, but I just had higher hopes for this story. It was cute-ish, but also kind of boring. I didn’t connect to the main character, she was annoying, and the love interest was irritating. 3 out of 5 stars.

“It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown” by Stephanie Perkins 

Now I know why everyone raves about Stephanie Perkins. I cried, I laughed, my stomach flipped, and I didn’t want it to end. This story was seriously perfect. Give me all of her books now… 5 out of 5 stars!

“Your Temporary Santa” by David Levithan 

I didn’t like this story as much as I thought I would. David Levithan is usually on point but this one kind of let me down. I couldn’t connect to the characters, the story was weird and the conflict with the sister/mother/father who left just made me uncomfortable. I don’t know why, I just wasn’t a fan. 3 out of 5 stars.

“Krampuslauf” by Holly Black

I really liked how this story was about Krampus! It made me laugh a bit and I felt like I could connect with the main character. However, I feel like it needed more time to blossom if you will. The story just felt a bit too rushed. Overall, 4 out of 5 stars.

“What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth?” by Gayle Forman 

Love, love, love! This story was cute, funny, charming, witty. I thoroughly enjoyed it (and I’m pretty sure this one made me cry too). Definitely one of my favourites. Sign me up for more Gayle Forman. 5 out of 5 stars.

“Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus” by Myra McEntire

Not my most favourite, not my least favourite. I wasn’t captivated by it, but I also didn’t hate it. It was funny at times, kind of cute, but also kind of boring at other times. 3.5 out of 5 stars.

“Welcome to Christmas, CA” by Kiersten White

I seriously think this one might be my favourite. I loved it. When I say I cried in some of the others one, I sobbed in this one. The way her family situation played out in the end just had me floored. I could not contain my emotions. Also, as a plus, cute boy who cooks AND bakes. Needless to say, 5 out of 5 stars!

“Star of Bethlehem” by Ally Carter 

I really enjoyed this one. It was kind of bizarre and confusing to me at first just because I was like “who the hell is this weird girl who gave up her plane ticket to New York and WHO IS SHE RUNNING FROM”. However, the small town family was so sweet and the boy was adorable. 4 out of 5 stars.

“The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer” by Laini Taylor 

Really great ending to the book. I think I was expecting something different so I wasn’t blown away, but I really did enjoy this. Laini Taylor writes so beautifully and I just cannot wait to read more from her in the future. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Overall this anthology was just so great for the holiday season and if you haven’t picked it up yet, I strongly suggest you do. It will most definitely be a staple of mine every December.

xx

Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

