TOP 14 BOOKS OF 2014!

This list has literally taken me so long to compile. I didn’t really read as much as I would have liked to this year, however, I read a lot of amazing books. The hardest thing was putting them in any sort of order. Although I did come up with some sort of agreement with myself so let’s get to it.

14. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout Obsidian_cover1600-300x457

This may not be the most well written or edited book I read this year but it was so much fun. I read this one and then immediately had to pick up the next one. These were the first two books I have read by Jennifer L. Armentrout and I’m really excited to start discovering her other series. Any recommendations?

8475505

13. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

This book!! Oh my goodness. This book was so much fun, really unique and interesting, and also laugh out loud funny. I could not get enough of the characters and their Southern world. I’m so exited to continue this series and see how the drama/love-triangle-ish thing plays out.

2030917512. My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

I’m honestly so happy that this book exists. It is the perfect holiday book. Even though I liked some stories more than others, the book as a whole was fantastic. There was romance (duh), a little bit of mystery, magic and humour. It was the absolute best blend of everything you need during the holidays and it will certainly be a new staple for me at Christmas’s to come.

1333503711. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I read this book in March immediately before the movie came out. I honestly didn’t know what to expect, but I was so pleasantly surprised. I just finished reading the second one but the first is definitely superior (and I’m too terrified to read the third). I also can’t wait to pick up Four sometime soon ;). If you’re passing up this book because people refer to it as “just like The Hunger Games” I urge you to give it a try.

1574918610. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This book was adorable, funny, sweet and had such a beautiful family aspect as well as a romantic one. This was the first book I’ve ever read by Jenny Han, but will definitely not be my last. I have The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy and now I’m just waiting for the right time to start it. I’m so glad there is going to be a sequel to this book because I couldn’t believe it was over when I finished it.

9781595147585_p0_v3_s260x4209. Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

I bought Vampire Academy on a whim in the summer because I had heard good things about it. Little did I know as soon as I finished the first book I would be ordering the boxed set. I’m not someone to marathon books, but I could not put these down. I was so invested in the story and the characters lives that I found myself thinking about them even when I wasn’t reading… I have heard only better things about the Bloodlines series so I cannot wait to sit down and marathon those hopefully sometime soon.

157043078. Saga Volume 1-4 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Ahhh! This was the first graphic novel series I picked up for pleasure and I was immediately addicted. I’m not yet finished the fourth but I don’t doubt I’ll give it 5/5 stars. I don’t think I’ll be able to wait for the next trade… I might have to start picking up the single issues in order to satisfy my need for this story.

84901127. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

This book legitimately broke my heart and somehow put it back together and then broke it again. I love the characters, I love the story, I love the world. There is nothing more that could have been added to such an amazing story. Laini Taylor has a gift. Well, of course every author on this list has a gift, but ugh I just can’t get enough of these books. I’m so nervous for the finale.

11235712

132067606. Cinder + Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

I couldn’t make a decision. A lot of people say Cress is their favourite but seeing as I just got it for Christmas I haven’t read it yet. I loved both of these books so much and Marissa Meyer is just amazing. I didn’t know how to feel about a Cyborg Cinderella and the Sci-Fi setting, but it is FANTASTIC. Highly, highly recommend these books to just about everyone.

62291

5. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Don’t get me wrong, I loved A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings, but A Storm of Swords was just magical. I haven’t yet started the next book because I am trying to make them last, however I definitely need to get on those before the next season. George R.R. Martin is a god. I never thought I would be able to tackle books that were over 800 pages, but here we are.

15795357

4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

*Sigh*. This book. I WEEPED on a beach chair in Mexico because of this book. I don’t even think I can explain why it is so amazing. Just read it please.

8755785

3. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

As much as I loved this book and thought it was the best ending to an amazing series, it was not quite number one. However, it still placed in the top three of course. Cassandra Clare is a goddess and somehow was able to end this book perfectly without completely ruining my life. Thanks Cassie.

19063

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Beautiful, wonderful, terrible. This book was a roller coaster of emotions that I could not get enough of. It was difficult to put this in second place but it is definitely one of the best books I have ever read. If you have not yet read this book, what are you waiting for? Your life will change, I promise you that.

16068905

1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Pure perfection. I don’t even know what else to say. I laughed, I cried, I cried harder. There is no doubt that this is the best book I read this year and possibly in my life. It has a very special place in my heart. Honestly, Rainbow Rowell can do no wrong and I cannot wait to get my hands on Attachments and Landline.

Well that just about wraps up 2014! I’m heading over to my bestfriend’s house to have some bacon wrapped filet mignon and lobster 😉 I hope everyone has a wonderful New Year’s Eve and I guess I’ll see you in 2015! Whatever your plans stay safe and have fun ❤

xx

Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

