Double Review: All The Wrong Questions

I literally am the worst at read-a-thons. Not in terms of reading, I’m actually doing really well, but in terms of updates and twitter and all that fun stuff… So since it’s the last day and I haven’t done any updates thus far I’ll just do a “Bout of Books 12.0 Wrap Up” post tomorrow. For now I’ll just continue to review some of the books I finished this week.

* * *

13477819Who Could That Be at This Hour? (All The Wrong Questions #1) by Lemony Snicket
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Published: October 23rd, 2012
Genre: Middle Grade, Fiction, Mystery
Source: Bought
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis

The adventure began in a fading town. Far from anyone he knew or trusted, a young Lemony Snicket started an apprenticeship for a secret organization shrouded in mystery and secrecy. He asked questions that shouldn’t have been on his mind. Now he has written an account that should not be published that shouldn’t be read. Not even by you. Seriously, we recommend that you do NOT ask your parents for this, the first book in his new ALL THE WRONG QUESTIONS series.

Lemony Snicket, in case you don’t already know, grew up to be the author of A Series of Unfortunate Events series.

My Thoughts: 

When I was 10 years old my Dad’s cousin came to stay at our house for a few weeks in the summer with his three sons. They are from Wales and so naturally I thought they were very interesting. The oldest one is a year older than me and we got along very well. I’ve seen him quite a few times since then but the reason the first time we met was so special was because he introduced me to Lemony Snicket. I remember seeing him read The Hostile Hospital and thinking “what a strange cover, I wonder what this book is about”. When the school year started and the scholastic book orders started up again I immediately made my mother order me the set of books 1-9 and my life was forever changed.

A lot of people say A Series of Unfortunate Events started their love of reading. For me this isn’t true. I liked reading before I first read Lemony Snicket. In fact, I loved reading since first grade when you got to take home books in a book bag. However, Lemony Snicket changed the way I read and for that I will always be grateful. This past May I reread all 13 books back to back and immediately ordered the first two in the All The Wrong Questions series thinking they would answer some of the questions I have had for years.

Who Could That Be at This Hour tells the story of a young Lemony Snicket and his useless adult chaperone S. Theodora Markson. He chose this chaperone (ranked dead last) because he believed he would be able to sneak off to meet his associates and engage in more important activities. Unfortunately, as luck would have it, S. Theodora Markson whisks him off to the unusual town of Stain’d by the Sea where they are hired to solve the case of a missing statue. Little do they both know this statue seems to unfold an even larger mystery with an even larger villain behind it all.

The first book in this series mostly sets up the characters and the town while dealing with a small mystery. It’s funny and witty and has Lemony Snicket’s signature writing style. It doesn’t really answer any questions, just creates new ones. It also hints at characters and events that take place in ASOUE but mainly focuses on these characters and this new town. If you’re looking for a mystery that wraps itself up in the end with a neat little bow, this book is not for you. Mr. Snicket will never give you a satisfying ending, but that’s what makes it so fun. All in all this was a really fun and quick read. The only problem I had was that the story focused a lot on the characters and the mystery was kind of lacking in this first book.

* * *

17369219When Did You See Her Last? (All The Wrong Questions #2) by Lemony Snicket
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Published: October 15th, 2013
Genre: Middle Grade, Fiction, Mystery
Source: Bought
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis 

I should have asked the question “How could someone who was missing be in two places at once?” Instead, I asked the wrong question — four wrong questions, more or less. This is the account of the second.

In the fading town of Stain’d-by-the-Sea, young apprentice Lemony Snicket has a new case to solve when he and his chaperone are hired to find a missing girl. Is the girl a runaway? Or was she kidnapped? Was she seen last at the grocery store? Or could she have stopped at the diner? Is it really any of your business? These are All The Wrong Questions.

My Thoughts: 

These books are crazy addicting. I feel like I couldn’t have disliked this book if I tried. The mystery was fast paced, creepy and interesting. S. Theodora Markson was annoying and unintelligent so it was easy to imagine how Lemony Snicket was feeling. I love the characters. All of the children are around the same age and are completely loveable. They are smart, funny, and have jobs or roles that children that age definitely should not have.

I don’t like to go into too much detail on sequels so I will keep it short and sweet. If you loved A Series of Unfortunate Events I definitely encourage you to pick up this series. It doesn’t matter if you’re an adult, in fact, sometimes I think adults can take more from Lemony Snicket’s work than children can. I think no matter how old you are you can take something from these books and have fun while reading them. I’m glad I picked them up for this read-a-thon.

xx

Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

