JUNE WRAP-UP + JULY TBR!

And here we are again… Back for another wrap-up/tbr post. This month was quite honestly the busiest month of summer so far. I spent the first week of the month working and packing for my trip to Cuba. I left for Cuba on the 11th of June and got back on the 18th really late at night. I was sick for the last two full days in Cuba/for the first two days of me being home.. and the weekend I came home was Father’s Day weekend, which is the busiest weekend at Dairy Queen (yes, I work at a Dairy Queen)… I’m the ice cream cake maker, so the weekend was insanely hectic selling cakes.. and then I worked straight through the next week and had to catch up on all my summer school work! I even worked yesterday on Canada Day, which is a holiday for most people but I got extra pay so it’s all good! However, now I’m completely stressed out because I have my final essay for my summer school class due in two weeks and all I do is work!!

Nonetheless, I still managed to finish a few books… Not as many as I’d hoped… but a few!

June Wrap-Up

1. The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

I definitely thought that I wouldn’t be able to finish this book in one go with it being multiple separate stories, but holy crap, I couldn’t stop! I liked that all of the stories began right where the last one left off. It was almost as if I was reading one book instead of multiple novellas. I loved meeting all of the different characters that Celaena came in contact with, but OH MY GOD SAM…. I mean it’s not a surprise what happens, but I didn’t expect it to be so awful. 5 stars for Mrs. Sarah J. Maas.

2. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

This was the first book I finished in Cuba and oh my goodness gracious. I almost started bawling on the lounge chair at the pool… Miles’ back story is so freaking tragic. I could not stop reading until I figured out what happened in his past. The ending was absolutely amazing. 5 stars for Colleen Hoover!

3. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

This was the second book I read in Cuba and I honestly don’t really know what I was expecting going into it, but I really enjoyed this book. It was definitely like nothing I have ever read before. It was vulgar and hilarious and so real. I laughed so hard out loud at some passages that my friends made me read them aloud so they could laugh too. At this point I’m just giving away 5 stars!

4. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

This was my third book that I completed in Cuba and my first book by A.S. King. I hear nothing but good things about her books, but honestly I was a bit disappointed. I liked the story and I thought it was an interesting concept, but the end was a huge let down. It builds you up so much to want to know the truth about what happened and once you find out and Vera talks to the police it’s just like .. “okay, now what?” and it’s over! 3 stars for this one.

5. Allegiant (62%) by Veronica Roth

After my amazing experience listening to Cress on audiobook I thought getting this on audiobook would be a good way to force me to get through it. Unfortunately, I’m still not done. I’ve been listening to this on and off for the last 3ish weeks and I’m just getting so annoyed at the readers’ voices! Tris and Four just don’t sound like this in my head!

6. House of Many Ways (32%) by Diana Wynne Jones

This was the fourth book I started in Cuba and I probably could have finished it and the last one I took (Shadow and Bone) if I didn’t get sick. Usually being sick doesn’t prevent me from reading, but I was completely nauseous and out of commission for a solid 48 hours. I think I got sun stroke, it was awful. I want to finish this because it’s a companion novel to Howl’s Moving Castle and I love that book.

July TBR

My July TBR looks pretty similar to my last few TBRs… Finish up series/books I’ve already started.

1. Finish Allegiant and House of Many Ways 

2. Four by Veronica Roth

3. Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman

4. Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

5. P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

I’m not sure how much reading I will be doing this month considering I have my final paper/final exam for my summer school class in the next few weeks. However, I seem to always be able to find time to read so I’ll see what I can do. I’ve also been really obsessed with Netflix lately and I’ve watched the first and second season of Orange is the new Black in about a week so… I definitely need to chill with the TV and start reading/blogging. But it’s just so funny!!

tumblr_mrnae2zN7M1qhr7o1o1_500

I need to start making use of the different tools on WordPress so I can write a few posts when I have time and set them to upload later… I also just need to better organize my life. I can’t wait for this class to be over so I will finally have one full month to do nothing before back to school!!

What have you been reading this month? What are you looking forward to reading/doing/watching in July?

For all of you that still read my pathetic one post per month, thank you!

Cheers

Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

